GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Reaction score
Sin$
The Project Setup (1.0)
In this tutorial we will cover the basics of starting a new game project and how to configure the game properties to suite the environment of our game. This tutorial is for absolute beginners. However, experienced programmers may comment and help others.
Skill Level: Easy
Time to Complete: 10 Minutes

Special Links:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=27599

#1.1 Selecting a Project Type

Their are two main types of game projects you can build. First being a Windows Game, second being an Xbox 360 Game. Windows Games can be distributed freely depending on the author of the game. Xbox 360 Games can be built and deployed on the Xbox 360 console. This requires a one hundred dollar annual license. Then your game must be submitted for peer review and pass. Once it has passed, it will be displayed in the Xbox Live Indie Games marketplace.

For the purpose of this tutorial, we will be using a Windows Game Project. Name the project what ever you want.

2drbgwh.png

#1.2 What is where?

When your new Windows Game project has finished loading, you will be introduced to your games main control class. Within this class you will see a lot of comments (green text). Please read and fully understand them all. Once you have done so, remove it all. You should end up with a screen like this.

1qihoj.png

On the right hand side is our Solution Explorer. Here we can see our main project, and our Content Project. Our content project is a special project used to hold all of the games content and process it though using something called the content processor.

2ez3gv9.png

#1.3 Setting up the Graphics Processor

Now lets get our games window size setup. This size can be anything you want. If you are making an Xbox 360 game. You will want to set your back buffer width to 1280 and your back buffer height to 720.