Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Feyfolken

   
VIP
Retired
Reaction score
xrv1D8w.png

For those wanting to expand on their writing skills in a journalistic sense, this thread will hopefully help you on that journey. The idea behind any piece of writing isn't some far-off philosophical point (usually). What most writing tries to accomplish is either stating an idea or raising a question. The very best works of writing will often do both. So in this amateur guide, I can hopefully share something to help formulate essays, articles, novellas, or any other kind of writing.

Disclaimer: I possess no comprehensive knowledge of writing nor do I have any extensive background in journalism, be it occupational or academic. What I've learned and what I say in this thread is what I've used and learned over time in order to be satisfied with my work and make others happy to have read it. Take what I say with a grain of salt as I am no expert or professional when it comes to writing or journalism.

VEwpic6.png

With a decent understanding of the basis of writing, you'll be better off than most when they begin writing. Schooling in English generally doesn't focus on what constitutes a good piece of writing, such as what logic entails and how to argue. Before that can be explored, the very basics need to be mastered. This includes the ability to simply write well to the point where your writing contains little to no errors. That means that your punctuation cannot contain major mistakes, every word must be spelled correctly and each word used must have its own sensible place within the sentence and the context of the topic. Casp has created an in-depth guide on common grammatical mistakes that people are prone to making, so check out that thread if you think you could use a refresher on what some of those errors are.