What's new

Tutorial Skinning Halo 2(Pics)

  • Thread starter UndeadGhoul
  • Start date
  • Views 3,393
U

UndeadGhoul

Retired
Retired
Messages
345
Reaction score
90
Before we start you are going to need

1.DotHalo(Get it Here)

2.Adobe Photoshop Cs2(go to our download section and get if if you don't have it)

3.DDS Plugin for Photoshop(Get it Here)
The DDS Plugin goes into C:/Program Files/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop Cs2/Plug-ins/File Formats

4.Now you need Four things Mainmenu.map,Shared.map,Single_Player_Shared.map,And A copy of the map you plan on modding im going to be using Midship.map.Put them all in one folder otherwise it wont let you extract the bitmaps.

Now we can start the tutorial.

1.Open the map you choose(for it's Midship.map) in dothalo.



2.Now click on bitm(bitmaps) and find it bitmap you want to skin(i'm using the warthog) click on it and go to extract.Notice it says format DXT2/DXT3 that is how you will have to save it when you are done skinning remember what it said.



3.Now a small box came up saying bitmap extraction successful click ok on that.Now open Photoshop and go to File/Open and locate the warthog_standard.dds and open it.



Now this shouldn't come up unless you have NVIDIA tools but if it does just click ok and don't change any settings.



4.Now you have your bitmap open in photoshop.Click on your brush tool and change your forground color to whatever you click and start to edit your bitmap.


Yes i know that is a crappy job but you get the idea.

5.Now once you are done editing your bitmap we need to save it so go to file save and you will get a window.Remember the DXT2/DXT3 that was in fileformat well you need that now so click on the dropdown bar and choose DXT3(Explicit Alpha).Now just click save and you are done you can close photoshop at this time.



6.Open Dothalo and go back to the bitm(bitmaps) tag and find the warthog_standard again.Click on it and then go to inject bitmap and inject your edited bitmap into it.



7.Now another box should come up saying injection of bitmap was succesful click ok on that.Now you should see your new bitmap in that box that is up.Now go to save changes on the tag are then click fix encrpytion once you do that close midship.map(or whatever map you edited).



8. Now open Mainmenu.map,Shared.map,And Single_player_shared.map one by one in dothalo and click fix encryption for each one then close them.Also Make Sure you use a resigner on your halo map the others such as shared.map cannot be resigned so just use the encryption method and they will still work.



9.Now to make skins show up you have to clear your CACHE files and X,Y,Z folders your cache is in your E:/Cache DO NOT DELETE THE FOLDERS JUST THE FILES IN THEM.

10.FTP the maps to your xbox make sure to replace all of them.Now run halo 2 and have fun with your new skins.

2005 UndeadGhoul And Se7en-Sins.tk
 
K

krazy

Enthusiast
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
7
Very nice tut, will help alot of noobs
 
A

AzzidReign

Man with the plan
Administrator
Messages
21,401
Reaction score
27,525
Yeah, he made this a long a$$ time ago...but then it somehow got deleted along the way! I'm glad to have it back tho :smile:
 
A

acestu

Enthusiast
Messages
65
Reaction score
4
Before we start you are going to need

1.DotHalo(Get it Here)

2.Adobe Photoshop Cs2(go to our download section and get if if you don't have it)

3.DDS Plugin for Photoshop(Get it Here)
The DDS Plugin goes into C:/Program Files/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop Cs2/Plug-ins/File Formats

4.Now you need Four things Mainmenu.map,Shared.map,Single_Player_Shared.map,And A copy of the map you plan on modding im going to be using Midship.map.Put them all in one folder otherwise it wont let you extract the bitmaps.

Now we can start the tutorial.

1.Open the map you choose(for it's Midship.map) in dothalo.



2.Now click on bitm(bitmaps) and find it bitmap you want to skin(i'm using the warthog) click on it and go to extract.Notice it says format DXT2/DXT3 that is how you will have to save it when you are done skinning remember what it said.



3.Now a small box came up saying bitmap extraction successful click ok on that.Now open Photoshop and go to File/Open and locate the warthog_standard.dds and open it.



Now this shouldn't come up unless you have NVIDIA tools but if it does just click ok and don't change any settings.



4.Now you have your bitmap open in photoshop.Click on your brush tool and change your forground color to whatever you click and start to edit your bitmap.


Yes i know that is a crappy job but you get the idea.

5.Now once you are done editing your bitmap we need to save it so go to file save and you will get a window.Remember the DXT2/DXT3 that was in fileformat well you need that now so click on the dropdown bar and choose DXT3(Explicit Alpha).Now just click save and you are done you can close photoshop at this time.



6.Open Dothalo and go back to the bitm(bitmaps) tag and find the warthog_standard again.Click on it and then go to inject bitmap and inject your edited bitmap into it.



7.Now another box should come up saying injection of bitmap was succesful click ok on that.Now you should see your new bitmap in that box that is up.Now go to save changes on the tag are then click fix encrpytion once you do that close midship.map(or whatever map you edited).



8. Now open Mainmenu.map,Shared.map,And Single_player_shared.map one by one in dothalo and click fix encryption for each one then close them.Also Make Sure you use a resigner on your halo map the others such as shared.map cannot be resigned so just use the encryption method and they will still work.



9.Now to make skins show up you have to clear your CACHE files and X,Y,Z folders your cache is in your E:/Cache DO NOT DELETE THE FOLDERS JUST THE FILES IN THEM.

10.FTP the maps to your xbox make sure to replace all of them.Now run halo 2 and have fun with your new skins.

2005 UndeadGhoul And Se7en-Sins.tk
Hi, if anyone is still around between the tumbleweed, could you tell me please how come i can skin all the maps in the maps folder but if i try and skin a DLC map in the Tdata folder, it fails to load in the game even though it has been resigned .?
Cheers
Acestu
 
A

acestu

Enthusiast
Messages
65
Reaction score
4
Hi, if anyone is still around between the tumbleweed, could you tell me please how come i can skin all the maps in the maps folder but if i try and skin a DLC map in the Tdata folder, it fails to load in the game even though it has been resigned .?
Cheers
Acestu
Heloooooooo, echo, echo. Echo. Echo
Post automatically merged:

Heloooooooo, echo, echo. Echo. Echo
Halo is on a crash course trajectory Earth, and I am the only one that can save everything so please reply now, distress beacon activated...................................Entering deep sleep and awaiting rescue team
 
C

Caboose

☣ CabooseSayzWTF ☣
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
739
Heloooooooo, echo, echo. Echo. Echo
Post automatically merged:


Halo is on a crash course trajectory Earth, and I am the only one that can save everything so please reply now, distress beacon activated...................................Entering deep sleep and awaiting rescue team
There is no reason to bump this thread, especially since you already asked. If the map wont load then you are doing something wrong. The re signer you should be using is CMR2, and that's the only re signer you should be using.

However idk how you are saving halo but I beg to differ, me and a few others have archived everything halo 1 and halo 2 related for xbox modding, so if anybody deserves that honor it's us (however feel free to continue your work I look forward to seeing what you come up with!. If you need tools or anything along those lines you can view these threads

Halo 1 Tools: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/halo-pc-ce-modding-tools-oct-18-active.1737877/
Halo 2 Tools: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/halo-2-modding-tools-updated-2019.1736691/

Halo 1 Modded Mappack Repository (Work In Progress): https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/xbox-halo-1-modded-map-pack-repository-active-2020.1769300/
- This is a work in progress because we are combining mappacks and fixing issues where we see fit, right now we are taking a MUCH MUCH MUCH needed break from halo 1, so it'll be a few months even a year or so before we are completely done with that repo since we are making most of the old halo 1 mappacks obsolete.

Halo 2 Modded Mappack Repository: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/xbox-halo-2-modded-map-pack-repository-active-2020.1754281/
 
A

acestu

Enthusiast
Messages
65
Reaction score
4
There is no reason to bump this thread, especially since you already asked. If the map wont load then you are doing something wrong. The re signer you should be using is CMR2, and that's the only re signer you should be using.

However idk how you are saving halo but I beg to differ, me and a few others have archived everything halo 1 and halo 2 related for xbox modding, so if anybody deserves that honor it's us (however feel free to continue your work I look forward to seeing what you come up with!. If you need tools or anything along those lines you can view these threads

Halo 1 Tools: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/halo-pc-ce-modding-tools-oct-18-active.1737877/
Halo 2 Tools: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/halo-2-modding-tools-updated-2019.1736691/

Halo 1 Modded Mappack Repository (Work In Progress): https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/xbox-halo-1-modded-map-pack-repository-active-2020.1769300/
- This is a work in progress because we are combining mappacks and fixing issues where we see fit, right now we are taking a MUCH MUCH MUCH needed break from halo 1, so it'll be a few months even a year or so before we are completely done with that repo since we are making most of the old halo 1 mappacks obsolete.

Halo 2 Modded Mappack Repository: https://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/xbox-halo-2-modded-map-pack-repository-active-2020.1754281/
Hey Caboose, cheers for the reply, looking at the post date I thought everone had moved on to other things, I used to medal with this stuff years ago so just playing during lockdown to see if I can get it all going again, thanks for the links will see what i can come up with, cheers
Acestu
Post automatically merged:

Hey Caboose, cheers for the reply, looking at the post date I thought everone had moved on to other things, I used to medal with this stuff years ago so just playing during lockdown to see if I can get it all going again, thanks for the links will see what i can come up with, cheers
Acestu
P.S. Dont get bent out of shape over saving Halo, it was obviously a joke and no one wants to steal your thunder, I especially am so grateful for everything that you guys have ever done for the legendary game Halo, once again thank you
 
P

p m

Enthusiast
Messages
188
Reaction score
10
I don't understand why these old threads are being woken up
 
C

Caboose

☣ CabooseSayzWTF ☣
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
739
I don't understand why these old threads are being woken up
You are very late to the party. For the last year or so me azzid, vinny, red, dom and many others have been very very busy archiving everything halo 1 and halo 2, from tools, to misc files to mappacks, to rebuilding modded mappacks, to reviving tutorials and modernization etc. This thread was only bumped due to the person needing help on understanding why there map wasn't loading when they skinned the map, so explained the bump on it, I however think a support thread should have been made but eh to each there own.
 
P

p m

Enthusiast
Messages
188
Reaction score
10
You are very late to the party. For the last year or so me azzid, vinny, red, dom and many others have been very very busy archiving everything halo 1 and halo 2, from tools, to misc files to mappacks, to rebuilding modded mappacks, to reviving tutorials and modernization etc. This thread was only bumped due to the person needing help on understanding why there map wasn't loading when they skinned the map, so explained the bump on it, I however think a support thread should have been made but eh to each there own.
You guys should try halo 2 Mcc map modding working lol I couldn't get a few programs to open the maps
 
G

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
3,788
Reaction score
1,442
You guys should try halo 2 Mcc map modding working lol I couldn't get a few programs to open the maps
The map files are very different. Im starting an R&D group, already making progress, little but its a starting point. When the time comes I will probably write up a thread explaining everything and sharing information. If you have any leads or knowledge please pm me.
 
C

Caboose

☣ CabooseSayzWTF ☣
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
739
The map files are very different. Im starting an R&D group, already making progress, little but its a starting point. When the time comes I will probably write up a thread explaining everything and sharing information. If you have any leads or knowledge please pm me.
I mean assembly works for mcc, granted i'm still waiting for the day we can port vista maps to xbox (pipe dream), I wont be joining the halo mcc pc fanclub, at least not for a long time.
 
G

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
3,788
Reaction score
1,442
I mean assembly works for mcc, granted i'm still waiting for the day we can port vista maps to xbox (pipe dream), I wont be joining the halo mcc pc fanclub, at least not for a long time.
Yes, and how come you wont be modding halo mcc?
 
C

Caboose

☣ CabooseSayzWTF ☣
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
739
Yes, and how come you wont be modding halo mcc?
Eh just don't care for pc gaming in general as is. But that's just me, I only ever play games on pc if they are exclusive to just pc and it peeks my interest, or if i'm modding a game on console and just using pc as the base for modding the game then porting over to console.
 
P

p m

Enthusiast
Messages
188
Reaction score
10
The map files are very different. Im starting an R&D group, already making progress, little but its a starting point. When the time comes I will probably write up a thread explaining everything and sharing information. If you have any leads or knowledge please pm me.
Yeah they are! I couldn't seem to find much info when doing a quick like 5 minute look into the .map files and everything and opening in certain older programs. I haven't dedicated any time to it yet. Been focusing on ranking up on MCC. Currently a 40 in H3 slayer! I haven't touched it in like 3 weeks though lol so I gotta get cracking!
 
G

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
3,788
Reaction score
1,442
Yeah they are! I couldn't seem to find much info when doing a quick like 5 minute look into the .map files and everything and opening in certain older programs. I haven't dedicated any time to it yet. Been focusing on ranking up on MCC. Currently a 40 in H3 slayer! I haven't touched it in like 3 weeks though lol so I gotta get cracking!
Assembly already fully works for h2 and h2a now. The meta data in the .map files are compressed. Using standard deflate compression. Once your decompress the map files make a lot more sense. Im using some good info from Assembly to make an app and release the source code in a manner that is easy to get started in. Hopefully that breaks the silence and gets people making their own tools and mods. Assembly is great, but having all of the meta fields in your face makes it a pain to get anything done efficiently. lol
 
P

p m

Enthusiast
Messages
188
Reaction score
10
Assembly already fully works for h2 and h2a now. The meta data in the .map files are compressed. Using standard deflate compression. Once your decompress the map files make a lot more sense. Im using some good info from Assembly to make an app and release the source code in a manner that is easy to get started in. Hopefully that breaks the silence and gets people making their own tools and mods. Assembly is great, but having all of the meta fields in your face makes it a pain to get anything done efficiently. lol
Yeah like I sad I haven't had time to mess with it much. I can't wait to have time to mess with more and get my hands in there! I really miss it and I don't wanna mod like H2V or OG H2, I wanna mess with PC MCC lol
 
Top Bottom