• Thread starter AzzidReign
  • Start date
  • Views 305
A

AzzidReign

Man with the plan
Administrator
Reaction score
Ever since my daughter played on my in laws NES Mini, she's wanted to play SMB. Right now, the controllers (Xbox One and Nvidia Shield controller) are too big for her hands so I figured "Why not just get the controllers meant for the games? That's how I started playing." I started looking up wired USB, wireless, and bluetooth connected controllers. Seems the reviews are all over the board with these things. I really wanted to get an N64 controller since it seems most of these games and emulators have a hard time with the rest of the remotes...UNLESS someone knows of a way to reprogram 007:Goldeneye to use the Xbox One controller without any issues. That's the one game that really ticks me off since looking and turning are on the joystick and moving forward are in the C buttons (iirc).

So...then I found this:

Right now, it's $44. Looks like it's been as low as $30 last December and $40 a couple months ago.

These have 6ft cables, so may have to buy an extension if they are going to play this on the main tv (where our Nvidia Shield TV is). With this kit, I have a controller for all the retro consoles I won (besides PS1).

I then came across these:

This goes for $35 currently.

From reading reviews and looking at some retrogaming subreddits, it seems this remote is compatible with most emulators without any issue. I like that it is small still and that I think it will work well for the kids, it is bluetooth so no wires will be tripped over or ripping the console off the shelf, and it can be connected to the phones or tablets. My only caveat with this one is it likely won't work with my N64 games.

The cool thing with this controller is that I could also bring it with me on my flights and have the kids playing games on my phone with this adapter:

This is going for $10.39 right now.