[OTHER] Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

Discussion in 'Programming & Scripting' started by -124112-, Feb 6, 2010 with 9 replies and 258 views.

  1. -124112-

    -124112- Enthusiast

    Messages:
    425
    Ratings:
    177
    Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    I am using VS2008 right now, and am pretty comfortable with it.

    Now I've been thinking about trying 2010, and I've read about what's new in that version.

    Does anyone here use 2010, or have experience with 2010? If so, is it better than 2008? Is it worth moving?

     
  2. Ibdc

    Ibdc Retired Retired

    Messages:
    5,100
    Ratings:
    2,072
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    2010 is a still a beta, I prefer to stick with stable releases rather than jump to a constantly upgrading/updating beta.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. DrXthirst

    DrXthirst Join Date: March 2006

    Messages:
    1,122
    Ratings:
    326
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    Yeah, I feel the same.
     
  4. Om3ga Sn1per

    Om3ga Sn1per Enthusiast

    Messages:
    237
    Ratings:
    44
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    The 2005 Edition is pretty legit. But just stick to 08'
     
  5. dschu012

    dschu012 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    760
    Ratings:
    381
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    2005
     
  6. HOBO POW3R

    HOBO POW3R Enthusiast

    Messages:
    813
    Ratings:
    788
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    I use 2008 just because of compatibility.
     
  7. sgt frankieboy

    sgt frankieboy Enthusiast

    Messages:
    724
    Ratings:
    133
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    I don't have any problems at all with visual studio 2010.
    And Still using 2005????
     
  8. Eaton

    Eaton Contributor

    Messages:
    1,605
    Ratings:
    385
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    Hardly any 3rd party components work with it. Wait for the final so you can use ReSharper, CodeRush, and all that good stuff.:wink:
     
  9. sgt frankieboy

    sgt frankieboy Enthusiast

    Messages:
    724
    Ratings:
    133
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    I don't use Plugins:smile:
    And everything is coded in .net 3.5 so:rolleyes:
    No problemo
    :smile:
     
  10. GoldBl4d3

    GoldBl4d3 Retired Retired

    Messages:
    3,758
    Ratings:
    1,328
    Re: Visual Studio 2008 or 2010?

    Ye, it will set the framework to 4.0 automatically. Just set it to 3.5 and 3rd party components work just fine. Yes, 2010 is perfectly fine and much better. Its not anything to do with coding. But intellesence and other stuff like that is greatly improved.
     

Share This Page