• Start date
  • Views 1,540
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

LUC1FER

Contributor
Reaction score
So today i finally got all my parts to build my new pc and after i assemble everything i find that the pc doesnt even attempt to power up... is the psu the problem? Its a 400w evga
The board is a MSI B350 matte..

Ps i tested the psu and the fans dont spin and its also making this high pitch noise when testing it with the papper clip method

Any help will be nice this is my first build so i have no idea..

Last edited:
H

Habofro

PC Enthusiast
Retired
Reaction score
Where's the pitch coming from?

L

LUC1FER

Contributor
Reaction score
Where's the pitch coming from?
Psu...its not loud but i can hear it
I honestly want to know if its the psu so i can get a new one

Last edited:
C

Clepto

Premium
Premium
Reaction score
You could always try borrowing a friends to stick in and see if it works properly, if it does you know it's the PSU.

I'd recommend looking through your motherboard and PSU manual, and just double checking that everything is connected where it should be.

If it does power up but the fans on the PSU aren't spinning, I'd say that's likely the problem as those typically are not controlled via an external source.

Would you mind posting all of your specs? If this is a somewhat higher end gaming PC 400 watts seems really low for a PSU, and you could be trying to pull too much power as well.

L

LUC1FER

Contributor
Reaction score
Mb msi b350
You could always try borrowing a friends to stick in and see if it works properly, if it does you know it's the PSU.

I'd recommend looking through your motherboard and PSU manual, and just double checking that everything is connected where it should be.

If it does power up but the fans on the PSU aren't spinning, I'd say that's likely the problem as those typically are not controlled via an external source.