What's new

Solved Maximus sd tool not asking to format when hooked up.

• Thread starter adroitful
  • Start date
  • Views 3,546
A

adroitful

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Sin$
Am I missing something? My soldering is almost perfect. But whenever I plug in the maximus sd tool, windows never tells me the drive needs to be formatted to use. Soldering is almost perfect. I will take a picture and show you guys. I've jumped the E$2 point on the sd tool. I've ran a wire from the crystal to pin 15 on the pin headers. The drive even shows under my computer as drive F: but, j-runner says failed to get disk geometry whenever I try to read it. I have power going to the board, but not powered on the xbox. I've ordered the same cheap sd reader I see everyone using and even tried to use the one in my laptop. I've even ordered a 2nd sd tool thinking that was the issue. It's always the same thing. I'm almost 100% certain the pin headers are making good contact as i've been soldering for many years and even checked them under a jewelers loop. Is there a point on the board I need to jump or maybe a trick to get this working properly in Windows 10 that I don't know about?

Edit: I've tried the qsb and yet another computer with a completely different card reader.. It's still doing the same thing. It starts to pop up under my computer and then just dissapears. Any ideas?
o5AycnL.jpg

Here is the drive displaying under my computer as drive F: as well as what jrunner shows. I'm almost positive this is a Windows problem and not a soldering problem.. Something with Windows 10 preventing it from working right. Tried multiple image sites and images aren't working. Here is a link:
https://ibb.co/fsgXEd