Solved Lite on 360 drive not detected by Vista?

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Lite on 360 drive not detected by Vista? HELP!

I have a faulty 360 liteon dvd drive that i want to take the details off to spoof onto a working drive. However the PC does not recognise it when i try the 'tray half in and switch off ' method. I have tried several time inc rebooting my pc.

The drive is being powered via a 360 console. The console is not the dvd drives original 360 but a alternate console (wich has been banned by ms).

Just some background info:

My brother had a brand new console thats been banned and another unmodified console with a faulty drive. I was planning to take the dvd drive out of the banned console use it to replace the one in the faulty console.

Would i need to place he faulty drive back into its initial console (i thought thtat just popwering the drive u could use any console) to get my pc to detect it via sata?

anyone?:smile:
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
No where in his post does it say its a 9XXXX firmware drive.


At OP. You can use any 360 to power a drive to read and flash it. If you do not have a VIA card already that is why it is not recognizing it.
 

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
it is indeed a dg 16d2s made in june 2008
HW version AoA1
fw version:74850c
philips and lite on

so theres no way i could spoof the details on this faulty drive to another one?

ive not got any specialist equipment im just using the sata cable that was initially connected to my dvd using a gigabyte ep35ds3l mobo
 

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
by dump i assume you mean extract the drivers keys etc into a bin file onto my hard drive. am i lacking in hardware?
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
Yes if your computer does not see it you need a VIA6421 sata card.

You also need a probe to grab the key from the drive.

Also yes. Dumping the drive means extracting the firmware. Also if the other drive is a lite-on it has to be modded to spoof the drive.
 

Forgoten Dynasty

Free Sosa #bangbang
VIP
Messages
5,910
Reaction score
2,611
Forgoten Dynasty said:
The dg-16d2s-09c is undumpable
EclipseModz said:
No where in his post does it say its a 9XXXX firmware drive.
genkisudo said:
it is indeed a dg 16d2s made in june 2008
WINRAR!!!!!!!

Anyway im going to assume you ment 2009 since i belive that was when the part was actually introduced. I have the same drive in my new xbox and will be looking into flashing it so im sure some of what i find can be useful to you.
 

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
is this liteon specific or would i need VIA6421 sata card for all 360 drives???

When you mention probe to get key i assumed jungleflasher detects the key itself?

also you said i need to mod the target drive how so.


thanks for the help very much appreciated

Forgoten Dynasty said:
WINRAR!!!!!!!

Anyway im going to assume you ment 2009 since i belive that was when the part was actually introduced. I have the same drive in my new xbox and will be looking into flashing it so im sure some of what i find can be useful to you.
no it deffo says 2008
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
Forgoten Dynasty said:
WINRAR!!!!!!!

Anyway im going to assume you ment 2009 since i belive that was when the part was actually introduced. I have the same drive in my new xbox and will be looking into flashing it so im sure some of what i find can be useful to you.
Hope you didn't say you just won. Because those 9xxx drives have only been around for a month or 2. His is a 7xxx made in 08
genkisudo said:
is this liteon specific or would i need VIA6421 sata card for all 360 drives???

When you mention probe to get key i assumed jungleflasher detects the key itself?

also you said i need to mod the target drive how so.


thanks for the help very much appreciated



no it deffo says 2008
VIA6421 card is for all drives. It will recognize them all.
 

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
thanks a alot for your help its appreciated.

Before i waste anymore of your time could you clarify 2 things

1)When you mention probe to get key i assumed jungleflasher detects the key itself?

2)also you said i need to mod the target drive how so.
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
The new drive. If it is a lite-on it has to be modded with Ixtreme or something. You cannot flash a stock firmware file to it because they dont exist.

Also no. You have to buy a probe it is a extra piece of hardware needed to extract the key.

Buy either one of these.

Maximus 360 USB Xtractor and Power Dongle Combo - eBay (item 370278372100 end time Nov-20-09 11:54:17 PST)

Maximus USB Xtractor for Xbox 360 - eBay (item 370281205589 end time Nov-26-09 09:01:32 PST)


Only difference is one will let you power the drive without the 360 and the other wont.
 

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
so its not just a simple case ( as some youtube tutorials suggest) of extracting all the details from one drive via jungle flasher and dumping them o another.

alot of guides that talk about flashing drives dont mention probes which is why i was suprised
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714

genkisudo

Newbie
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
it all makes perfect sense:biggrin: I have a flashed console (liteon) would i still need a probe? to update it when the 1.61 update is released or if i decide to update to 1.6
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
O, well then if its already flashed. No you do not need the probe. Just use jungleflasher to extract it. Use the jungleflasher tutorial that i posted in my last post.

Also might as well flash to 1.6. Because without it you will not be able to play any of the newer games coming out.
 

EclipseModz

VIP
VIP
Retired
Messages
7,692
Reaction score
2,714
You need to buy the full CK3 board to go with that. That is just the add-on to it.
 
Top Bottom