Solved Just Bought a New Laptop

Discussion in 'PC Support Archive' started by mexkan, Jul 23, 2018 with 6 replies and 409 views.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mexkan

mexkan Shoot the J! Premium

Ratings:
    So I just bought a new laptop for the first time in five years. Its a Microsoft Surface Book 2. I work in construction and mainly bought it for the graphics and tablet feature. I will be using it for looking at plans as well as watching movies when I'm not working. I don't really game on PC.

I was wondering if this laptop will work properly for me. Would I be able to play games like Call of Duty on it if I wanted too? So far it seems solid for what I use it for, but was just looking for opinions.
    Here is the specs for the laptop:
    Processor: Intel 15-7300u 2.60GHz 2.71 GHz
    Ram: 8gig
    I can't find the graphics card info but I think its Intel HD Graphics 620. That is the lowest card the laptop can come with.

2. ImOx

ImOx (^._.^)ノ Retired

Ratings:
    There is no graphics card, the CPU has an integrated graphics unit.
    And sure, you'll probably get a game to run, but it probably wont be pretty.
    Realistically you'll never want to get any laptop for gaming.

3. OP
    mexkan

Ratings:
    You're right. I didn't get the laptop for gaming. Just a thought. still is it overall worth the price? ($1,200)

4. ImOx

ImOx (^._.^)ノ Retired

Ratings:
    Sounds very expensive to me, but maybe that's just what laptops cost.
    Sorry I have no idea about laptop prices.
    Only thing I do know is that desktops are always cheaper and better.
    So always get a desktop, unless you really need to have a laptop for like easily carrying it around of whatever.
    And I'm not saying you should've got a desktop. Sounds like you had a valid reason to get a laptop.

5. OP
    mexkan

Ratings: