Help With Capture Card Selection/Use

Discussion in 'Halo 3 & Halo 3: ODST' started by crazymonky, Dec 15, 2008 with 8 replies and 514 views.

1. crazymonky

crazymonky Newbie

Ratings:
    Hey all!!

Before i start let me say that im not sure if i placed this in the correct forum, please understand i am a noob, and move this if necessary.

OK
    I was looking to buy a capture card for my XBOX 360 so i could record my halo 3 videos, and try my hand at making a montage.

NOTE: i know absolutely nothing about how to do this so any help no matter how nooby you think it is (eg. turn on xbox, turn on tv, etc.) it will help me out and i will greatly appreciate it.

So, as i was saying, i wanted to make a montage but i have several problems:

1. I dont know what i need to buy or use
    2. I dont have too much money to throw around (around 50$)
    3. I live in Canada (so not as much selection for products etc.)
    4. The computer i intend to connect this to is a laptop (so no PCI slots and stuff)
    5. I dont even know what im talking about!!! (LOL)

So any help would be greatly appreciated and i thank anyone who helps out in advance. :thumbup:

2. samlshaffer

samlshaffer Getting There

Ratings:
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVH1_9HhX9w&feature=channel_page]YouTube - How to Record from your Video Game System[/ame]

I have the same exact card works really well.
    I recommend buying this if you don't really know much about capt cards.
    Comes with easy to use software and a editor, but I recommend using Sony Vegas for video editing.

• Like Like x 2
  3. OP
    crazymonky

crazymonky Newbie

Ratings:
    Thanks for that but does this all work with a HDMI connection? i kept seeing s-video and got a little confused.

4. B-rad

B-rad Press On

Ratings:
    The best capture card I would reccomend is a Dazzle. Considering your budget, this is the best one to buy.

[Click here to view the link]