Build me a Comp + Setup - $1200 budget

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware & Builds' started by Dot, Feb 15, 2009 with 69 replies and 1,195 views.

1. Dot

Dot Premium Premium

Ratings:
    I have been convinced by Azzid to build my own PC instead of buying pre-made.

I am being given a budget of around $1200 for a PC that I can use in college. It has to last me 4-5 years and in good condition.

I am a total newb with building comps right now but I did peek inside an old PC and just messed with things. Keep that in mind.

I have a laptop that i will be using for class in college but I need a bad *** computer to come home too.

I'm going to do everything from:

• Flash
    • Photoshop
    • Video Editing (most popular programs)
    • Office Applications
    • Internet Radio Broadcasting
    • Online Business
    • Daily Computer Usage for all or most of these things.
    Some setups I would like to include with my PC is this:

• OPERATING SYSTEM! I need Vista or Windows 7. Non-pirated.
    • If you go to [Click here to view the link] do you see the A/V cable plugins? I want that on my PC somehow if possible.
    • Really good printer (scan, copy, fax, etc)
    • Decent Speakers (not too fancy needed)
    • A second monitor to dual monitor with (maybe even three if it's within the budget
    • *OPTIONAL* Online radio broadcasting equipment

Please help me out guys! It's for my birthday on March 18th!!!!!!!!! I'm so happy!!!!!!

2. Madman340

Madman340 Seasoned Member

Ratings:
    Windows Vista 64-bit OEM
    [Click here to view the link]

ATI TV Wonder HD 600

Canon PIXMA Printer

Logitech Speakers

G.SKILL 2 x 2GB DDR3 RAM

WD 320GB HDD

Sapphire HD 4850 Gfx Card

Core 2 Quad Q8300 CPU

CM690 Case

Gigabyte Mobo

Thermaltake 500W PSU

LG DVD Burner

Grand Total w/ shipping: $1,035.98

I'd let some people go over it before purchasing; it's late and I am tired. :huh:

3. Nightcast

Nightcast Retired Retired

Ratings:
  4. Madman340

Ratings: