Book Review: Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX, 2nd Edition

Discussion in 'Programming & Scripting' started by Haxalot88, Jul 1, 2009 with 0 replies and 525 views.

1. Haxalot88

Haxalot88 VIP VIP

Ratings:
    There have been so many good reviews about this book, I decided to pick it up myself to take a look (I'm an intermediate game developer, the book is aimed at beginner-intermediate). Since I began game programming using OpenGL (seriously, to intialize opengl is just a few lines, and it's VERY nice and simple to use), I recently started using DirectX. I got the basics down on using the API, however most tutorials, and even books tend to teach you how to use THEIR specific way of doing it, usually in the form of some easy wrapper that they create for you, teaching nothing about the real thing (so you end up learning about their API, but when it comes to programming your OWN engine, you're left clueless). Of course, this was a quick read, but due to how many things I found bad about it, I thought it might be worth bringing up these issues (with such good ratings, and being recommended for the beginner by the gamedev staff, I just have to). So just a disclaimer: I am proficient in c++, pretty decent at the windows API (I didn't care to delve into actual windows programming as it's irrelevant to game programming), and I know my way around a good game engine, yet since I've used OpenGL, DirectX is still fairly new. Regardless, here's a few things I looked at.

The first thing that came to mind as I read the first chapter was "this seems oddly familiar", as it is essentially a cut-and-paste from the first chapter of the first edition, only changing the few times he references the book name to "Programming Role Plying Games With DirectX, second edition". He provides absolutely no updates on this outdated and bloated section on setting up visual studio (even visual studio c++ 2005 makes most of this obselete and unnecessary).