Pokemon Go developer Niantic has shared the first details on the game's next Community Day. September's event is scheduled to take place around the world on Saturday, September 22, and it'll feature one of the starter Pokemon from Gold and Silver.

The Grass-type Pokemon Chikorita will be the star, of September's Community Day, meaning it'll be much easier to find than usual. For the duration of the event, players will have a greater chance of coming across a Chikorita while they play. The Pokemon will also be able to learn a special move during the Community Day, although Niantic has yet to reveal what it will be.

In addition to increased Chikorita spawns, September's Community Day will feature a couple of other bonuses. This time, players will receive triple the normal amount of XP for catches. Additionally, Lure Modules will last for an extended period of time, remaining active for three hours rather than their normal 30-minute duration.

As usual, September's Community Day won't be available for very long. The event will only run for a three-hour window of time, which varies depending on which part of the world you live in. You can find the full Community Day schedule for each region, below.

Before the next Community Day rolls around, Niantic will close out the Pokemon Go Summer Tour 2018 by hosting another real-world Safari Zone event in Yokosuka, Japan, from August 29 to September 2. Players who can't attend the event in-person will still be able to complete Global Challenges and help unlock in-game bonuses and rewards.

Pokemon Go September Community Day Hours

North America
  • 11 AM - 2 PM PT
  • 2 PM - 5 PM ET
Europe, Middle East, and Africa
  • 11 AM - 2 PM BST
  • 10 AM - 1 PM UTC
Asia-Pacific
  • 12 PM - 3 PM JST

Source: GameSpot