A new Event Mode is now underway in PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds on PC. Developer PUBG Corp. has kicked off a new limited-time playlist dubbed Metal Rain, which will only be available in the popular battle royale game for a very limited time.

Metal Rain is an eight-player Squads mode set on PUBG's original map, Erangel. This time around, flare guns will "spawn randomly alongside normal loot locations" as opposed to in fixed spots. Firing the flare gun within the safe zone will call in special care packages; however, firing it outside of the zone will drop a special vehicle, the armored UAZ.


Metal Rain is available for up to 96 players, divided up into 12 teams of eight. You're able to invite up to seven friends to form a squad. You also have the option to disable auto-matching if you'd prefer not to play with a full team of eight. Metal Rain will only be available through the weekend, concluding at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET on Sunday, April 22 (4 AM CEST on April 23). You can read more about the mode on Steam.

In other news, PUBG Corp. recently announced that it's working on a map selection feature for the game. The feature is slated to roll out on the test server "soon" and will give players the option to choose if they'd rather play on Erangel or the newer Miramar when starting a game. If the player selects both maps, then the game will randomly choose between them.

Source: GameSpot