Square Enix had previously teased that Final Fantasy XV would continue to expand with new DLC episodes this year. We've now learned what the company has in mind for those additions, but they're unfortunately not coming as soon as expected. A total of four more episodes are on the way, though these won't arrive until sometime in 2019.

The news was shared during a panel at PAX East. Like past episodes, each one will center around a specific character: Ardyn, Aranea, Luna, and Noctis. The last one is the most notable of the bunch, as it will explore the story of his "final battle." Here's how the slides (via ResetEra) presented during the panel describe each of the four:

Episode I: Ardyn -- The Conflict of the Sage
  • This story portrays the struggles of Ardyn. Witness the resentment he harbored towards Lucis for over 2000 years and his clashes with the Astrals.
Episode Side Story: Aranea -- The Beginning of the End
  • A side story about the Starscourge depicted from the Niflheim's perspective. The final day of the Empire turns out to be Aranea's worst day.
Episode II: Lunafreya -- The Choice of Freedom
  • This story's about Luna's fate, which not even death can free her from. Her battle to save the one she loves overturns the destiny dealt with the Lucian King.
Episode III: Noctis -- The Final Strike
  • Parting ways with the Astrals, Noctis embarks upon his final battle in order to attain the ideal future for all his people.
Additional details on all of these are still to come, including specific release timing. We also don't know how much these will cost or if Square Enix intends to offer an additional season pass for this new slate of content. When director Hajime Tabata confirmed more DLC last year, he would only say that the first episode would feature Ardyn.

Source: GameSpot