Fortnite Servers Down For Maintenance Ahead Of New Update

A new update for Fortnite is scheduled to launch today on all platforms, but players on PC, PS4, and Xbox One are unable to play right now....
  1. RSS Feed
    [​IMG]

    A new update for Fortnite is scheduled to launch today on all platforms, but players on PC, PS4, and Xbox One are unable to play right now. Maintenance has taken longer than expected, and developer Epic Games says the game will still be down for a period of time as it works to complete the process.

    Maintenance began at 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 9 AM GMT today, January 25. Epic subsequently announced on Twitter, "We're sorry the update has gone longer than expected. We're making some changes to the backend systems to handle growth." It subsequently stated that downtime would continue as it worked on the matter: "Hi all, it is looking like we are going to be down for at least a few more hours as we scale our backend systems."

    In its most recent update, which came just after 7 AM PT, that same estimate was given. "Sorry everyone, it's looking like the Fortnite servers will be down for at least a few more hours," it said. "More updates will follow."

    In the meantime, players are unable to get online to play Fortnite's Battle Royale or Save the World modes. Although not as substantial as the recent map revamp, today's new patch will make changes to both game modes, with some of the more significant updates coming on the Battle Royale side, where the new Chug Jug item will be added. You can read more about what to expect in our story on the new Fortnite patch notes, or see them in full on the official website. We'll report back once maintenance is concluded and the update is available.

    Source: GameSpot

    Share This Article

Comments

To make a comment simply sign up and become a member!