What's new

.NET Requesting Experienced C# Programmer

  • Thread starter GoldBl4d3
  • Start date
  • Views 1,975
GoldBl4d3

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Messages
3,785
Reaction score
1,452
Points
600
Sin$
0
Hmm...then this is definitely something I should add to my to-do list.

You should come talk on aim.
 
Const

Const

Übermensch
Messages
575
Reaction score
758
Points
205
Sin$
0
Their is a learning curve. Mostly people who understand game programming fundamentals understands how to create controls.
Can I ask why you think that? (As far as the game part) After talking with you before and reading more, it's basically just a class with your controls properties/members, functions for features and then the function to draw the controls for when windows issues the WM_PAINT message. It's fairly straight forward other then learning about GDI+.
 
GoldBl4d3

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Messages
3,785
Reaction score
1,452
Points
600
Sin$
0
Can I ask why you think that? (As far as the game part) After talking with you before and reading more, it's basically just a class with your controls properties/members, functions for features and then the function to draw the controls for when windows issues the WM_PAINT message. It's fairly straight forward other then learning about GDI+.

Because a major concept in game programming is an update call and a draw call. The update call handles all logic, the draw call handles just drawing. When programming controls its important to remember this as the controls are repainted using the same concept.
 
ObscureCoder

ObscureCoder

Enthusiast
Messages
684
Reaction score
308
Points
125
Sin$
0
Because a major concept in game programming is an update call and a draw call. The update call handles all logic, the draw call handles just drawing. When programming controls its important to remember this as the controls are repainted using the same concept.
I've never seen anyone using a game engine manually write the game loop.
In C# do you just override the paint methods or something in the Control class?
 
S7 Pro

S7 Pro

Seasoned Member
Modder Programmer
Messages
2,511
Reaction score
1,599
Points
560
Sin$
7
I've never seen anyone using a game engine manually write the game loop.
In C# do you just override the paint methods or something in the Control class?
That's because when you're using a game engine, the engine handles the drawing. If you've ever written a game from the ground up you will need to write the draw and update methods yourself. Secondly, when writing a control you can override the OnPaint method.
 
GoldBl4d3

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Messages
3,785
Reaction score
1,452
Points
600
Sin$
0
I've never seen anyone using a game engine manually write the game loop.
In C# do you just override the paint methods or something in the Control class?

That's because when you're using a game engine, the engine handles the drawing. If you've ever written a game from the ground up you will need to write the draw and update methods yourself. Secondly, when writing a control you can override the OnPaint method.

Yes you override the Paint method is part of how it works, but it follows closely to the concept of game programming which is merely why I made that statement.
 
Mr Smithy x

Mr Smithy x

Enthusiast
Programmer
Messages
320
Reaction score
186
Points
165
Sin$
0
I've been practicing, i made my own audioplayer control which im proud of, however i cannot skip to a certain position :c
 
Rictothen

Rictothen

Enthusiast
Messages
100
Reaction score
10
Points
70
Sin$
7
My Visual Basic will come in handy here XD good luck with finding someone, did the guy before who said he was up for it not reply back ?
 
GoldBl4d3

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Messages
3,785
Reaction score
1,452
Points
600
Sin$
0
My Visual Basic will come in handy here XD good luck with finding someone, did the guy before who said he was up for it not reply back ?

No one ever replies back. I get lots of people come to me and want to try, but I ask to make a button control, a simple button control and I never hear back.
 
Mr Smithy x

Mr Smithy x

Enthusiast
Programmer
Messages
320
Reaction score
186
Points
165
Sin$
0
Lol, exactly.

I used the themebase for the form only and i was able to pull the button and the tabcontrol off without relying on aeonhack
10492058_927252993955242_8834199720253579989_n.jpg

Here i made a colored progress bar
10501785_929846330362575_4741096692326556476_n.jpg


Lastly my own music component
10553547_938980299449178_6751896890611393475_n.jpg


I'm still learning deciding im gonna use roundedrecs cus its looks weird having it only squarecorners.

Edit:
Also i started learn using aeonhack themebase a month ago and now im refraining from using aeonhacks base. Also i want to learn how to make gradients, then i'll step my game up on on making advance controls something more animated and appealing
 
Last edited:
Z61

Z61

Some times our saints are sinners
Retired
Programmer Forum Addict Odysseus' Summit
Messages
5,468
Reaction score
3,429
Points
1,042
Sin$
0
I used the themebase for the form only and i was able to pull the button and the tabcontrol off without relying on aeonhack
10492058_927252993955242_8834199720253579989_n.jpg

Here i made a colored progress bar
10501785_929846330362575_4741096692326556476_n.jpg


Lastly my own music component
10553547_938980299449178_6751896890611393475_n.jpg


I'm still learning deciding im gonna use roundedrecs cus its looks weird having it only squarecorners.

Edit:
Also i started learn using aeonhack themebase a month ago and now im refraining from using aeonhacks base. Also i want to learn how to make gradients, then i'll step my game up on on making advance controls something more animated and appealing
Using a themebase doesn't really show that you can make one without it.
 
Mr Smithy x

Mr Smithy x

Enthusiast
Programmer
Messages
320
Reaction score
186
Points
165
Sin$
0
Using a themebase doesn't really show that you can make one without it.
I made the tabcontrol, progressbar,
button and audioplayer without aeonhack themebase, only the form was made using aeonhack's.
 
Last edited:
GoldBl4d3

GoldBl4d3

VIP
VIP
Retired
Programmer Mythical Veteran Legendary Veteran
Messages
3,785
Reaction score
1,452
Points
600
Sin$
0
Make them all without a windows 8 style. That will tell me everything.
 
Top Bottom
Login
Register