1.  

PS3 PS3 Save Editing Tutorial

Discussion in 'Borderlands 2 Modding & Glitching' started by blakwidowstang, Dec 20, 2012 with 405 replies and 144,206 views.

  1. blakwidowstang

    blakwidowstang Borderlands 2 MacGyver

    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    This is for editing your own save, not to be confused with resigning other saves to your profile.
    To resign another person's save to your profile go Here.
    Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2010 - Download Here
    BruteForce Save Data (V3.8)- Download Here
    BruteForce Dependencies - 1Download Here
    Gibbed's Save Editor - Download Here


    *Remember to make a backup of your save data in case anything goes sideways*

    1. Install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2010 if you don't already have it.
    2. Extract and Install "msvbvm50.exe" from the "Dependencies.rar"
    3. Open "BruteForceV151NewDB.rar", extract the files to your desktop, and run the Bruteforce installer.
    4. Copy your Borderlands 2 Save Data from your PS3 to your USB stick and then plug it into your computer.
    5. Copy your save data to the desktop.
    A folder named PS3 > SAVEDATA > BLUS30982-SAVE-SAVE0005
    [​IMG]
    6. Run "BruteforceSaveData.exe". If you get an error regarding MSCOMCTL.OCX check the spoiler below.
    *Note: The new version of the BruteForce installer registers the file automatically.
    First, check your system folder for the file to see if it's missing:
    (for 32-bit) C:\Windows\System32
    (for 64-bit) C:\Windows\SysWOW64

    If it's missing, extract the file from the Dependencies.rar and place it in that directory.
    When you have the file there type this in a command prompt window:
    (Make sure you're running command prompt as an administrator)

    (for 32-bit) regsvr32 "C:\Windows\System32\MSCOMCTL.OCX"
    (for 64-bit) regsvr32 "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\MSCOMCTL.OCX"

    [​IMG]

    A window will pop up giving you confirmation of successfully registering the file.

    [​IMG]

    Whos-In pro - Download Here
    1. Run the self-extracting archive.
    2. Navigate to your Whos In folder.
    3. Right Click on the "OCXregistertool.exe" and choose Run As Administrator.
    4. Click "Register mscomctl.OCX"

    Credit to XxBenxX for letting me know this was out there.
    7. Make sure BruteForce is looking in the right directory
    [​IMG]
    8. Select your save file.
    [​IMG]
    9. Select Decrypt PFD.
    [​IMG]
    10. It will ask if you want to decrypt the selected files, select yes.
    11. It will give you an error in the dialogue box about a disc hash key, disregard this.
    12. Open Gibbed's editor, select PS3 as your platform, and open your save.
    [​IMG]
    13. Mod as you please, and save your file back to the original folder.
    14. Open BruteForce once again.
    15. Select your save.
    [​IMG]
    16. Select Update PFD(Full), and then Encrypt PFD
    [​IMG]
    17. Transfer your save data back to the USB stick.
    18. Enjoy

    For convenience, you can use some of the text lists from my save set Here to easily add items to your backpack since it's easier to edit your save instead of resigning others.
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
    J_L_K_64, iMetriq, irafanv and 14 others like this.
  2. roxas1012

    roxas1012 Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can get to step 12. Once i get there and choose my save i get a message that says " Failed to load save:LZO decompression failure(LookbehindOverrun) "
    What do i do?
    herbie4206 likes this.
  3. blakwidowstang

    blakwidowstang Borderlands 2 MacGyver

    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Did you change your platform to PS3? Drop down menu in the bottom right corner.

    Edit: That's how I recreated your error. Check the spoiler/image I added under step 12 to see what I mean.
  4. KrazedHD

    KrazedHD Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice this should help all NOOBS at this im looking for other people to say tuts are good but i leared it my self the hard way so i whant to say thanks for helping the noobs at modding there saves
  5. crimsonending

    crimsonending Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it usually take a long time for Brute Force to find my saves? I've followed every step to the letter until I get to that part. Either Brute Force is taking forever or it just isn't able to find my saves.
  6. DEFTONED

    DEFTONED ††† Retired

    Messages:
    3,634
    Likes Received:
    3,996
    Thanks blakwidowstang for posting this. This will help a lot of PS3 users!
    Jezz and blakwidowstang like this.
  7. xXninjagingerXx

    xXninjagingerXx Enthusiast

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    16
    I got this same error and changing it to PS3 worked, Thanks!
  8. ThornSnyder

    ThornSnyder Enthusiast

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    *Sigh*

    And so it begins.
  9. xXninjagingerXx

    xXninjagingerXx Enthusiast

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    16
    How do I run the save from my USB?
  10. moops44

    moops44 Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can do all steps
    the first time it works but now i cant remode
    when i put the save on my ps3
    there is my old save on the stick :eek:
  11. blakwidowstang

    blakwidowstang Borderlands 2 MacGyver

    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    If you follow all the steps above to the letter, you shouldn't have a problem. I wouldn't know where to start to diagnose your issue, I'm sorry.

    Also, sorry for the late response, my internet has been down all day.
  12. JWR1985

    JWR1985 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    14
    I used this and it worked perfectly for me. modded a lvl 9 commando to lvl 50 with a backpack full of modded guns and gear to show off to my PS3 buddies lol.
  13. JWR1985

    JWR1985 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    14
    if you are just looking at the save and not loading into it in game, it will say its the same unmodded save, but when you load it, your mods will have taken effect. Mine did that to, but I loaded the character and its was successfully modded.
  14. roxas1012

    roxas1012 Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks that really hepled
  15. ExoWarrior

    ExoWarrior Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, it doesn't seem to work for me, I get an error saying "SHA1".

    Also my save didn't appear like that, it didn't show the files in BruteForce until I clicked "Show All Files"..

    Any ideas?
  16. Manatee90

    Manatee90 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please help! I do EVERYTHING you say and it says

    "Failed to load: LZO decompression failure(LookBehindOverrun) PLEASE HELP!
  17. Manatee90

    Manatee90 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    And I selected ps3 too, I tried everything!

    If anyone who has gotten it to work and can help please do, I followed instructions to the letter

    I fixed it, I selected ps3 in Gibbeds editor, not when I was loading it Going to retry
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
  18. JWR1985

    JWR1985 Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    14
    how i got it to work for me, step by step was:

    1. put save file on USB from PS3.
    2. put said file on my desktop.
    3. open file with brute force, making sure its opened on the desktop.
    4. decrypt the save file.
    5. open gibbed, choosing ps3 saves and opening the file i put on the desktop.
    6. mod as you want and save back to the file on the desktop.
    7. click update PDF.
    8. click encrypt PDF
    9. move file back onto usb and copy over the orginal with the modded one.
    10. copy file back onto PS3.

    when you look at the save file on the ps3 until you actually open the save file and go into it, it will look like the original file, but it will be modded when you go into it, I modded three files with this last night and if i had a cam i would gladly show you how I did it.
  19. ikeelyouhaha

    ikeelyouhaha Enthusiast

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had this problem my first time through. All I did was click on the 3 ... (dots) next to the refresh button on Brute Force and change the path to witch you have it searching for your saves. That should solve your problem I hope. If you already did this or knew about it sorry for the post.
  20. blakwidowstang

    blakwidowstang Borderlands 2 MacGyver

    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Make sure you are selecting your the "PS3" folder of your save data as to shorten the amount of data the program has to sift through. Reference the picture in the tut to see what I mean.