• Thread starter Tradition
  • Start date
  • Views 608
Tradition

Tradition

illuminati
Reaction score
Sin$
I am fairly new to this whole rooting stuff and I don't really know exactly what I'm talking about so please have some patience. :tongue:

I have had my HTC One M8 Verizon model since August 2014 and I am contemplating on rooting because I'm just tired of all the bloatware and Sense. I just want to put another ROM on my phone and just do that type of stuff but I'm not entirely sure on what I have to do. I think I need to unlock my boot loader but since I'm on Verizon, I can't do it through HTCDev.com and I need another way of doing it. Is there another way of doing it that is safe and won't brick my phone?

Also, my camera lenses are scratched and I was wondering if I should get them fixed and then root it or root my phone first then get it fixed?

What are recoveries/kernels and what do they do?

Last edited:
Bear

Bear

Fabled Veteran Mr. Nice Guy 10th Anniversary
Reaction score
Sin$
To unlock your bootloader, you can follow this tutorial. Before you do can do this though, you have to turn S-Off which you can learn how to do here.

About your camera lenses, I think you'll be safe rooting it first, but it wouldn't hurt if you sent it in for repair first either.

If you need anymore help, just ask. I also have a rooted HTC One M8 converted to a GPE.

Last edited:
Tradition

Tradition

illuminati
Reaction score
Sin$
To unlock your bootloader, you can follow this tutorial. Before you do can do this though, you have to turn S-Off which you can learn how to do here.

About your camera lenses, I think you'll be safe rooting it first, but it wouldn't hurt if you sent it in for repair first either.

If you need anymore help, just ask. I also have a rooted HTC One M8 converted to a GPE.
How did you convert to the GPE? Also, what recovery should I use?

Tradition

Tradition

illuminati
Reaction score
Sin$
Here's a tutorial.

I use TWRP, but they do the same thing.